Dear Dr. Fil,

Should I take my Real Estate License?

“I am plagued by this question: should I take my Real Estate License.”

Far away from home

Dear Dr. Fil,

I am plagued by this question: Should I take my real estate license? My friends and family say it’s a great idea and I’ll be great at it but my boyfriend says it’s a waste of money and time and that the system is rigged and only the realtors that come from money, are making all the money. I don’t want to discredit my boyfriend and I agree with him on some points. But I also don’t want to not try and disappoint the people that see my potential. What should I do?

Sincerely,

Far away from home

Dear far away from home,

Thank you for your question. Seeking out answers to our questions is the first step towards clarity. I particularly like this question, because it encompasses so much more than just taking a Real Estate License. You are at a crossroads in life, which is a position so many of us have had to encounter many times. When we are faced with possibilities or choices, we may tend to go into overdrive. We want to please and make the people around us proud, we want everyone to feel seen and heard. We want, more than anything, “to make the right choice.” But there are no right choices, only actions and consequences. It is my belief that we must educate the consequences and free the choices. Ultimately, rerouting the direction of a career is a substantial change that will come with a specific set of hardships, problems and also achievements and compensation. Your heart already knows what it wants to do, what it wants to try. When I was working towards getting accepted into Theatre School, I was faced with very similar questions. Would this be a good option for me? Would I ever actually be able to exercise this craft? Would I ever be able to make a living? What would my friends and family think of me? And funny enough, I also had a very unsupportive boyfriend by my side. So many opinions, so many fears and doubts. Besides, I had already tried and failed twice. But deep down my heart knew what it wanted. I auditioned in secrecy for the third time and the rest is history.

I do wish to give you a more pragmatic answer as well, so you can feel supported in your decision. If I were to take my license all over again, this is what I would consider: Taking your Real Estate License and building your own practice is not a job you apply for. No one will give you directions, clues, contacts and most certainly no one will give you money. You will learn that you can’t throw a tantrum when things don’t go your way, that hard work is absolutely necessary but not even close to enough. It is a commitment to yourself, to your time, to your decisions. A commitment to honor your voice. It’s reinventing yourself, it’s embracing and loving the limitations. If you can learn all the lessons it teaches you, it can be the most wonderful decision of your life. But if you refuse to learn and stick to your hard headed ways, it can be tempting to quit. And dear, you are never as far from home as you think you are. 

Sincerely, 

Dr Fil

*The following advice is intended for mature audiences. The purpose of the column is to both inform and entertain. Any similiarity to reality is pure coincidence. Woman portrayed not a real doctor. Please use your own discretion when taking any advice

Send all your Real Estate Questions to “Ask Dr. Fil”

Dream of becoming a Realtor but don’t know how to start, click here.

Need daily inspiration to reach your goals, follow us on Instagram!

For a peak at how my mind works, follow on X (also known as twitter).

Listen House.Roc Spotify Playlist curated to make your crush your Goals.

Share this Newsletter with the world if you find it useful!

You are receiving this email because our paths crossed somewhere along the way.

I am Real Estate agent licensed in the State of NY with Keller Williams of Greater Rochester.