Ask Dr. Fil

Pointless in Pittsford

“Realtors just seem Pointless at this Point.”

Pointless in Pittsburg

Dear Dr. Fil,

I am considering selling my house. It’s too big for me and considering the appreciation levels in the last few years, I think I can downsize and live comfortably. I have received a lot of emails and phone calls regarding selling my property but I haven’t made any decisions. My question is, some of this services seem really attractive. Even promising to sell my house at top dollar, without having anyone coming through my house AND lower fees. With Real Estate Fees being so high and having had some not so great experiences with realtors in the past, I am considering using these services. Realtors just seem pointless at this point! I wouldn’t even consider questioning it if it wasn’t for you. Me and my mom are both obsessed with your column and I wanted to ask you first before I make any final decisions! Thank you in advance. My mom says HI!

With admiration,

Pointless in Pittsford.

Dear Pointless in Pittsford,

Thank you for your letter and a warm HI! to your mom.

Regarding your question, I completely understand your concern and the typical “Real Estate Job” does seem to be headed towards extinction if these services do what they promise and keep expanding. Knowing that your goal is to capitalize on your equity, as fast as possible with the least amount of hassle, dealing with real estate agents, showings and open houses and fees may seem counter-productive and even pointless, as you say. I feel that if I try to counter your argument, it may seem self serving and insincere, which would never be my goal. Instead, I will share a personal story not related to Real Estate.

As you may know, I am a new American citizen. A Dream since my early teens and my journey towards becoming a citizen was long, arduous and expensive. I had been living in the US for 11 years before becoming a citizen. Needless to say, this was a very IMPORTANT goal for me. For years, still in my childhood bedroom, I would practice my english and rehearse my citizenship test. I knew it would be one of the happiest days of my life.

When the opportunity presented itself to file for a Green Card (and subsequent Citizenship) I chose the best Immigration Attorney I could find. Now, to put it in context, I had long overstayed my welcome and was working about 15 hours at a small, now defunct, restaurant. Money was a major consideration. I scrimped and saved every dollar to be able to afford the attorney and it’s expensive fees plus all the federal fees on top of that. It was a financial ballet and I was on my tippy toes, not sure if I could afford the next step. I could easily have chosen to file my own paperwork from home and represent myself, saving thousands of dollars in professional legal fees. But I have learned a long time ago that certain things are worth every penny.

Had I filled my own paperwork or used online services, I would have tripled my anxiety, my worry and my sleepless nights. I wouldn’t have anyone to guide me step by step, set expectations and timelines, file all the confusing paperwork for me, troubleshoot the correct supporting documents and most important of all, I wouldn’t have someone to call in tears. And yes, my dear, that did happen more than once. My Immigration Attorney became a friend, a confident and a strategic partner. Someone I still stay in contact with to this day.

Not every realtor will merit your trust and for that I believe you will have to do your proper due diligence. But the fees charged by a trustworthy realtor go beyond listing your home for a good price. Some may say, they are priceless. I urge you to consider the road ahead, ponder your goals and compare the price vs value of a real estate agent.

Best of luck in your home sale and reach out whenever you need. I am still offering Complimentary Consultations for new clients, before I too become extinct.

Sincerely, 

Dr Fil

*The following advice is intended for mature audiences. The purpose of the column is to both inform and entertain. Any similarity to reality is pure coincidence. Woman portrayed not a real doctor. Please use your own discretion when taking any advice

Send all your Real Estate Questions to “Ask Dr. Fil”

Dream of becoming a Realtor but don’t know how to start, click here.

Need daily inspiration to reach your goals, follow us on Instagram!

For a peak at how my mind works, follow on X (also known as twitter).

Listen House.Roc Spotify Playlist curated to make your crush your Goals.

Share this Newsletter with the world if you find it useful!

You are receiving this email because our paths crossed somewhere along the way.

I am Real Estate agent licensed in the State of NY with Keller Williams of Greater Rochester.