Mango Business Consulting

The Power of Branding: Becoming Iconic & The Art of Staying Top of Mind

This week, I chatted with my dear friend Cynthia Castillo, Marketing Strategist and owner of Mango Business Consulting. We met on Social Media, of course, and jumped on a call to discuss “The Power of Branding: Becoming Iconic & Staying Top of Mind.”

-If you need help creating a captivating Newsletter, Create and Systematize your Social Media and converting followers into “fans” that will talk about you to their friends, reply directly to this email! I have a System for YOU!-

  • Personal branding is crucial for connecting with potential clients and fostering relationships

“Becoming Iconic” is the ability to be memorable and transcend the topic or industry you are currently in: How to Sell Yourself in a way that can translate beyond the product you are currently selling. As a realtor, selling home features or market stats is encapsulating me in a very specific box that will not allow me to translate my brand to other products, business ventures or opportunities, capping the longevity of my personal brand and making it impossible to sell anything else beyond houses.

The more Personal you can be in the brand you’re building, the more Universal you can be in what you’re selling.

“Filipa: Do I actually know who I am and do I feel confident and comfortable sharing that with the world? Otherwise you’re just a parrot, right? You are repeating what everyone else is already saying or can easily find out.

Cynthia: No doubt. People no longer want to see ads that look like everything else, they want your personal opinion. What do these trends mean, what is your personal view of them.”

People want to feel like they know you.

  • Storytelling and sharing authentic experiences resonates more than just posting facts/stats

Marketing & Branding is NOT the service you’re providing. Is an insight to who you are and what they can expect when they pick up the phone. As controversial as it may seem, they do not want the picture perfect realtor.

They want someone they can identify with. Vulnerability is the biggest key for me. So many of the people I talk to feel intimidated by realtors. Unable to connect to people who carry financial shame. I like to show that I am not standing on a high horse of knowledge but this is a journey we are taking together towards “Success”. I am learning to care less about how I am perceived and more with sharing that I also struggle with having opposing thoughts, I have issues with the housing market, the state of the Industry. I also dislike being seen as a paycheck or a transaction. I have worked hard to show that I too am walking the bridge.

“Filipa: Real Estate Agents do have to be artists. Information is easily accessible. Everyone is drowning in information. The art part is how do I weave this into a Story that is relevant and appealing to the costumer?

Cynthia: That’s true. Story telling is so important and sharing your personal stories. As an agent you have useful stories, horror stories and crazy stories. It’s so important to share them.”

I mean, storytelling and parables worked for Jesus, right?

  • Consistently showing up on preferred platforms builds trust and memorability

Personal branding seems ethereal and out there but what does it actually look like on a day to day? What does that look like on my calendar? How do I actually bring branding concepts and story telling into a social media post, or a newsletter? How do I systematize it and bring it across platforms?

Having a system is the only way to bring your voice or brand into platforms that ultimate leverage your message.

If you need help creating a captivating Newsletter, Create and Systematize your Social Media and converting followers into “fans” that will talk about you to their friends, reply directly to this email! I have a System for YOU!

According to Cynthia, our Marketing Strategist, it starts with “having a commitment to yourself: I will post on Social Media x amount of times a week or send out a monthly newsletter, even if that doesn’t sound like fun. Most people get stuck because they don’t know what to say or what to post. I think the easiest way to start is making a list of questions you have or have been asked and share what you have learned.

Filipa: I agree. Make a choice and then systematize it. As boring as it sounds, there is no way around that.

Cynthia: Yes, just start with one. Don’t overwhelm yourself.

Filipa: What platforms are you choosing? If I like this platform than the people that are like me will most likely be here too. I don’t need to post on platforms that I don’t actively use. Do you read emails? Start there. Start where you are.”

A lot of this is trial and error, experimentation. Try it, get feedback, implement. Course correct. And shape your business WITH the consumer.

I love posting on Stories, personally. I am natural born story teller. Stories are the easiest to shoot, no editing necessary. More intimate, and you can easily point people on your feed towards them. BONUS: Stories are less visible but they force people to take action. The CTA of a Story view increases the likelihood of a relationship. The more work you ask your audience to do, the more invested they will be. What comes easy, leaves easy. These are all art/ performance principles. Cynthia reiterates that making a habit of it will also create a habit for your audience, creating a dynamic pattern between the brand and the audience.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to The Outsider to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now