Mind My Business!

Hayley Dayis Edition

“Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.”

— Ryunosuke Satoro

Good Morning!

It is 2024: The Era of the Creative-preneur. Those oddballs in high school who always wanted to follow their hearts. I knew that we would find our way to each other somehow…

One of the things that inspires me the most is seeing other artists and entrepreneurs taking their game to the next level. Rochester is full to the brim with creative energy and stimulating individuals doing amazing work.

I have been thinking so seriously about how I could show you behind the curtain of the creative process, give you a veritable insight into ‘How the Other Half Lives.”

Not the rich half, the Interesting half, lol.

I have decided to Highlight some of my favorite local Artists, Entrepreneurs and Self-Made Badass MOFO’s I have the incredible pleasure of calling friends.

Together, we make up the Ocean of awesomeness that is Rochester, NY.

Meet my Dearest Darling, Hayley Dayis.

Who do you think you are?

I would describe myself as a careful risk taker. I was born in Rochester, NY and grew up on the shy side, a good student, aiming to please my parents and my teachers. It wasn’t until I transferred to Purchase College to finish out my Bachelor’s degree in Creative Writing that my more rebellious side was finally coaxed out, handed a mixed drink, and told to think for herself. It was both incredible and terrifying. I cut off all of my hair, took some mind-blowing classes, picked up the ukulele, discovered my love for visual art, got a bunch of tattoos, and hung out with gender bending, rule defying artists who resisted the systems I had always abided by. I lived in Seattle for three years pursuing a career in music, ended up in Mexico off and on for two years dating a so-called Shaman, came back home in defeat, and then set off again for South America where I currently spend winters painting with natural pigments. I am now working full time as a painter, living between Rochester and Popayán, Colombia where my partner Alexander’s father was born. I love this lifestyle. I pay my taxes and even bought a home in Rochester a few years ago, but I also question what culture and society expects me to do at every bend in the river.

How did your business find you? Was it a calling or it caught you by surprise?

My business came as a total surprise. I was first exposed to natural pigments while living in Oaxaca City, Mexico. When I was back in New York, my ears perked up when I heard about a local guy painting with minerals. I went to his art opening to see for myself. The second I saw his paintings, I knew those colors were the colors I had been dreaming of painting with. I met the artist, and we connected right away. We have been together for 4 years now, building our natural pigment art business.

What has been the most challenging thing about pursuing your own business?

The greatest challenge of pursuing my own business has been actively believing in myself when times get tough. Being an artist takes a lot of personal bravery, because you are constantly putting yourself out there (sharing your work is vulnerable) and your income is never guaranteed. As an artist, some people don’t see what you’re doing as a valid career, and assume that this is a phase until you get a “real” job. I feel grateful every day, including the hard days, to have the supports, resources and bravery to build my own art business over the years.

What does a day in your life look like?

Right now, it is early spring and I am in my painting studio in Colombia. I live in a spacious country house with a big fenced in yard for our three dogs, eleven turkeys and nine chickens. A typical day looks like this: I wake up around 8 and eat breakfast, do a little jump-rope cardio in the yard with the birds, make tea to bring up to my studio, work on content creation and festival/event applications for the summer season, and then paint until lunch. Right now I’m re-listening to the Harry Potter series on Audible while I paint, which feels indulgent and awesome. Roberto and Fernanda make delicious meals almost every day and we come together in the afternoon to eat and talk at the table. After we clean up the kitchen, I go back to my studio to continue painting until about 8 pm. Then Alexander and I usually hang out together with the dogs on the front porch, or we sit at the table with Roberto and Fernanda eating an evening snack, or Alex and I go upstairs to watch a show together before bed.

What is your biggest regret/ biggest accomplishment?

I can’t say I have any looming regrets. I’ve made a bunch of mistakes, lost friends, gotten hurt, and made a fool of myself but I definitely don’t regret how my life has unfolded as a result of all the ups and downs along the way. I’d say my biggest accomplishment has been learning Spanish, which is a metaphor for so many other things in my life. I realized that learning a new skill or language has just as much to do with loosening up and having fun, laughing at mistakes and loving your foreignness as it has to do with studying and putting in the time to really understand the rules/grammar. 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I see myself with a flourishing art business in which Alexander and I are regularly showcasing our artwork throughout the Americas, continuing to teach pigment painting workshops (perhaps with an art therapy angle), and hosting natural pigment artist retreats in Colombia. I also see myself becoming a mother.

What’s your biggest childhood dream? In what ways are making sure your inner child gets heard/fulfilled?

When I was six my dad asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, and I told him I either wanted to be the person who sprays the cars down before they go into the carwash or a Wegmans checkout person. I thought those looked like fun jobs! But what I really dreamed about more than anything was to have a happy family. I wanted my parents to love each other or even just get along. I’m working towards hearing my inner child on that one by really carefully building a relationship with Alexander based on honesty, respect and freedom. We share the dream of creating a successful business and a happy family together where we work as a team especially when times get tough.

As an artist/ entrepreneur what are your thoughts about money and wealth building?

Money is a tricky topic, because it gets wrapped up with emotion. We equate how much money we have with our own self worth. But on its own, it is a tool that we all need. I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with wanting to have enough money to be comfortable. Our culture makes the mistake of promoting wealth as a necessity for happiness, which results in a lot of unsatisfied and greedy behavior. I don’t think anyone needs or deserves to get super rich. But I do think it’s crucial to make enough to have some savings so that you’re not stressed when life happens, you can live the lifestyle you love, and relax enough to let go and enjoy along the way.

If money was no issue what would you be doing?

I would be doing exactly what I’m doing now with the natural pigment paintings, only I would also build a community house either in Colombia or NY (or both!) for creative retreats where people can go to unplug, reconnect with trees and dirt, cook group meals, have a quiet place to work on their projects, and rejuvenate.

What does the future hold?

The future holds fun. I look ahead and see a flourishing art business that I love, continuing to live between two places (Rochester and Popayán) that give me energy and amazing community, having a family with Alexander, continuing to write music and play in our band Wovenhome, and having a blast with my almost-born niece (just a few more weeks!).

What do you think your epitaph will say?

Reunited with the earth she loved.

Who is your hero and in what ways does that admiration come out in your life & work?

I don’t have one specific hero, but I do really admire monks. I have always been interested in mental training and discipline to live a more balanced life. I am a naturally very sensitive and emotional person, so I work to process and positively focus my reactions and feelings through daily practices: journalling, yoga, nature walks where I observe the tiniest of things, observing myself with compassion, enjoying simple pleasures, and doing my best to say what I really mean. 

Where can we see you(r) work?

You can follow me on Instagram @hayleydayis to virtually see my work foragedpigmentpaintings.com (website coming soon!), and if you want to experience the full splendor of the natural pigment pieces in person, Alexander and I have a very full lineup of galleries and events for summer 2024 that include:

Galleries: Axom, Melo Cafe, Impact Earth, Fort Hill Performing Arts Center, Genesee Valley Art Center, The Yards

Events: Allentown Art Festival, Blue Heron Music and Arts Festival, Grassroots, Syracuse Arts and Crafts Festival, Grape Fest

DM me on Instagram with your email and I’ll add you to our monthly newsletter, which will keep you up to date with upcoming events and sales.

*The following advice is intended for mature audiences The purpose of this newsletter is to inform and entertain. Any similarity to reality is pure coincidence. I do not have any affiliations with the artist and am not collecying any money.

Wanna chat with Mee? click here.

Need daily inspiration to reach your goals, follow us on Instagram!

For a peak at how my mind works, follow on X (also known as twitter).

Listen House.Roc Spotify Playlist curated to make your crush your Goals.

Share this Newsletter with the world if you find it useful!

You are receiving this email because our paths crossed somewhere along the way.

I am Real Estate agent licensed in the State of NY with Keller Williams of Greater Rochester.