Mind My Business

Vinalia Urbana

“Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.”

— Ryunosuke Satoro

Good Morning!

It is 2024: The Era of the Creative-preneur. Those oddballs in high school who always wanted to follow their hearts. I knew that we would find our way to each other somehow…

One of the things that inspires me the most is seeing other artists and entrepreneurs taking their game to the next level. Rochester is full to the brim with creative energy and stimulating individuals doing amazing work.

I have been thinking so seriously about how I could show you behind the curtain of the creative process, give you a veritable insight into ‘How the Other Half Lives.”

Not the rich half, the Interesting half, lol.

I have decided to Highlight some of my favorite local Artists, Entrepreneurs and Self-Made Badass MOFO’s I have the incredible pleasure of calling friends.

Together, we make up the Ocean of awesomeness that is Rochester, NY.

Today, I wanted to introduce you to my awesome friends JJ Cutaia and Brian Arliss!

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t know them in the city of Rochester tbh but I wanted to give them a huge shoutout as they just opened their own restaurant! A new food child in the Rochester Scene.

I hope you delight in knowing more about them as I have and let’s hang out at Vinalia soon! Enjoy :)

Who do you think you are?

Jj and I met almost 20 years ago now through mutual friends. I was born in Charleston, SC and Jj here in Rochester. When we met, we were your typical teenage degens lurking around in basements and playing euchre until 5am. Meanwhile, during this time, we somehow fell into basic restaurant work. A few years pass and we’re into actual hospitality; Jj serving at 2 Vine and myself on the line at Tavern 58.

What’s your favorite title? What would you like to be known as?

I never considered myself a chef until years ago when I was in charge of my first kitchen and JJ is a level 2 sommelier and General Manager.

How did your business find you? Was it a calling or it caught you by surprise?

We both kind of fell into this industry but it took a few years for it to develop into a passion and eventually an obsession.

What has been the most challenging thing about pursuing your own business?

Patience. This conversation started about 2011. We knew we needed to be 100% mentally prepared to execute at the level we wanted and all the right pieces had to be in place. Nothing could be forced.

What does a day in your life look like?

Mondays coffee, talk, phone calls, coffee, pick things up, put them down anf Tues-Sat, coffee, high-energy, smiles, jokes, tasty smells, high fives, coffee, service, hugs, high fives, smiles. Sundays are funday, usually just saying how awesome our jobs are every day.

What is your biggest regret/ biggest accomplishment?

As for myself, I never finished a certification and used covid as an excuse, I should go back and finish. Vinalia is our biggest accomplishment to date.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Running between a few of our spots each night to make sure they're all operating at the highest level.

What’s your biggest childhood dream?

I guess I wanted to be some sort of famous athlete or musician. I can definitely say, having a great night in the hospitality industry is kind of the same feeling.

In what ways is money a consideration?

The irony of growing up lower class, racking up tons of student loan debt to try and build a dream and going into an industry with razor thin profit margins. I wouldn't trade it for anything.

As an entrepreneur what are your thoughts about money and wealth building?

I’ve made it this far without any money but I’m happy so I’ll probably just keep doing what I’m doing.

If money was no issue what would you be doing?

Running a kitchen with JJ running the front.

What do you think your epitaph will say?

Aged 244. Died Hungry

How do you think other people perceive you?

It’s my life’s goal to simply be a good leader, someone people can trust blindly.

 Who is your hero and in what ways does that admiration come out in your life & work?

Anthony Bourdain. His growth as a person and the way he speaks about humanity is truly inspirational.

What question do you wish I had ask?

Wings or flats? Blue cheese or ranch? Yes, there are correct answers.

Where can we see you work?

Visit us at Vinalia Urbana 230 Monroe ave Tues - Sat: 5 - 10pm.

Follow us on instagram and facebook!

*The following advice is intended for mature audiences The purpose of this newsletter is to inform and entertain. Any similarity to reality is pure coincidence. I do not have any affiliations with the artist and am not collecying any money.

Wanna chat with Mee? click here.

Need daily inspiration to reach your goals, follow us on Instagram!

For a peak at how my mind works, follow on X (also known as twitter).

Listen House.Roc Spotify Playlist curated to make your crush your Goals.

Share this Newsletter with the world if you find it useful!

You are receiving this email because our paths crossed somewhere along the way.

I am Real Estate agent licensed in the State of NY with Keller Williams of Greater Rochester.