Where are they Now?

Irma Cádiz Edition

“Memory is the diary that we carry about with us.”

Oscar Wilde

Good Morning,

Welcome to “Where are they Now?” A place where I get to explore my own memories. Life is nothing but a string of events, scenes played back to back. Sometimes, slowly, other times, all at once. What remains indubitably, is the people that crossed your path. All of them with so many stories to tell and so many lessons to give. I have been feeling this enormous desire to re-open certain doors of the past and take a good look at it again. I hope you enjoy going down memory lane with us…

Today, I wanted to introduce you to Irma Cádiz.

I first met Irma circa 2011, in NYC, as members of a Theater Company. We used to meet every Monday at “The Drama Book Shop” on 40th Street. Bellow the quaint bookshop, was a small black box theater, “The Arthur Seleen Theatre” and play around like we were children.

I have ridiculous fond memories of those times: I was a brand new New Yorker, a full-time Au Pair by day and sassy NY actress by night. Always with my camera in tow, I have dozens, if not hundreds, of photographic evidence of our shenanigans on stage.

68 Cent Theater Company, 2011

68 Cent Theater Company, 2011

Irma & Mee, 2011

Currently living in NYC, Irma is a Rochester native (yes, I am aware lol)

Irma is an aspiring actress, mother and wife. Among other things, Irma likes to spend her time exploring the world she lives in by taking note of the finer details.

This is her… Now!

How did art/ acting find you? Was it a calling or did you fall into it? Tell us a little about your acting experience?

 “I first knew I wanted to act way back in the 5th grade, after watching a classmate perform in a school play as the happiest dog on the planet. Though unable to recall the name of the production, or why this puppy was so happy, the young lady’s performance left me in a trance. I can still remember the energy she put into her character. The desire to act was reignited after impulsively taking an acting class in high school years later for extra credit. I may or may not have shared a kiss on stage… Through the act of behaving truthfully under imaginary circumstances, an entire new world had opened up for me. 

What’s your favorite title? What would you like to be known as?

Each role in my life has equal value, whether it be as a friend, mother, wife, sister, daughter or as an actress. Having experienced setbacks as well as successes in each of these roles, I would hope that in the end I have achieved a life that makes my family proud and helps heal all wounds between any of us. Equally important is keeping those same principles in keeping accountability towards myself.

What has been the most challenging thing about the pursuit of an artistic career?

Pursuing a career in acting, like any other career choice, requires a strong work ethic and consistency. People often think that things will be so much fun and that roles will be handed to you once you take a headshot photo.This industry is a business like any other and one will have to invest both financial and sweat equity into it if they want to find a place in this industry, not to mention the years of education.

What does a day in the life of Irma look like? 

A day in my life begins with a cup of coffee. Plain and simple. Black. My week, let alone my day, is planned out almost to the minute between meal prepping and following a schedule which is balanced between work schedules, rehearsal schedules, workouts, even time with family is scheduled in. Once I find myself with free time, such as on a vacation, I want nothing to do with any sort of itinerary, which my close friends know not to ever suggest making for me.

 What is your biggest regret/ biggest accomplishment?

Biggest Regret: Listening to life advice from people who are not where I want to be in life. Biggest Accomplishment: Learning to listen to my own voice within, and seeking out mentoring from people who have already achieved the same goals that I have set for myself.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 

In 5 years time I see myself accomplished and reaping the rewards for all my efforts. This is already happening, though never in the ways that I imagined. Life is interesting that way. Everything comes to you when it is the right time, you just need to be ready to accept the peace that will result from accomplishing your goals. 

What’s your biggest childhood dream? In what ways is big Irma making sure your inner child gets heard/fulfilled?

My biggest childhood dreams fell somewhere between owning my own restaurant and being a ballerina. Ironically, though I do not own my own restaurant I constantly tinker around in my kitchen learning new recipes, then share these little culinary conquests with anyone who is willing to watch the reels online. I’ve competed on a cooking show for PBS, while also running a small business selling coquito. Kind of circles back around to my previous point about life working out just a little differently than you envisioned. As for my dream of being a ballerina, well, I have two left feet. Not allowing this to be a deterrent however, back in 2020 when I suddenly found myself with time along with the rest of the world, I started making video reels dancing along to zumba classes. I then led a small dance challenge with friends online which eventually evolved into what I like to call the “support group for Latinas who can’t dance.

Would you encourage your children/ close friends to pursue art? Why? Why not?

Emphatically. I would support them in pursuing the arts, or engineering or any career they set their minds on. There is no right answer to which career will lead someone to not only success, but joy in their lives. People often forget that the second half of that statement is equally if not more important than the first. Instead of pushing a deliberate path onto our children, we need to foster their choices as well as focus on giving them a strong and solid foundation for putting in the work they will need to do in order to achieve their own goals, no matter what they may be.

In what ways is money a consideration? What role does financial planning play in art? As an artist what are your thoughts about money and wealth building?

Financial planning plays the biggest role in preparing for a career in the arts. Money will always be funneled in from the start for education on whichever art one pursues. Traditionally, financial investment and planning was not taught in most art schools. Artists are not necessarily given a weekly paycheck, making it of the utmost importance that a cushion is established to buffer in between gigs. An artist must have an understanding of how to keep a budget sheet, know how to run business and also learn how they will best invest their money towards the future because in the end, an actor is in fact, a legal entity. Were money not an issue, I’d be traveling the world both auditioning and continuing my education at some of the world’s biggest stages, taking a slice from every culture and integrating it into my own work.

Where can we see your work? 

You can catch me moonlighting as a clerk on Law & Order & on the third season of Raising Kanan, as “Valentina,” owner of the Dominican Salon Raq purchases.

Connect with Irma on Instagram @Irma Cádiz

Follow her Business on Instagram, Facebook, & Tik Tok

For Coquito Purchase visit: coquitolady.com

*The following advice is intended for mature audiences The purpose of this newsletter is to inform and entertain. Any similarity to reality is pure coincidence.

Wanna chat with Mee? click here.

Need daily inspiration to reach your goals, follow us on Instagram!

For a peak at how my mind works, follow on X (also known as twitter).

Listen House.Roc Spotify Playlist curated to make your crush your Goals.

Share this Newsletter with the world if you find it useful!

You are receiving this email because our paths crossed somewhere along the way.

I am Real Estate agent licensed in the State of NY with Keller Williams of Greater Rochester.