Propia Persona

It's a Art Thing

“Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.”

— Ryunosuke Satoro

Good Morning!

It is 2024: The Era of the Creative-preneur. Those oddballs in high school who always wanted to follow their hearts. I knew that we would find our way to each other somehow… Rochester is full to the brim with creative energy and stimulating individuals doing amazing work.

I have been thinking so seriously about how I could show you behind the curtain of the creative process, give you a veritable insight into ‘How the Other Half Lives.”

Not the rich half, the Interesting half, lol.

I have decided to Highlight some of my favorite local Artists, Entrepreneurs and Self-Made Badass MOFO’s I have the incredible pleasure of calling friends.

Today, I wanted to introduce you to the talented Taryn J.

I met Taryn at UUU Gallery and it was almost love at first sight! I have seen her in action: painting, creating events and she even gave me an ultra Powerful Tarot Read! Enjoy! 😃 

Who do you think you are?

I was named for my Nana and my Father, Taryn J.

My Nana's bloodline is native to Duafuskie Island the S. Carolinas & Florida. The southern islands. It can be reached by ferry and can be seen on online, specifically my IG @itsaartthing

How did your Business find you?

I used to take crayons and write on the walls ...and thus my journey began. I still draw and paint on walls to this day & on. I love Murals.

I’m also healer on the low and read tarot cards often at Mystic Treasures!

My favorite medium is Paint and Charcoal. I'm a visual artist. I'm trained in 3D /Media,

Graphic Design, Drawing, Painting & Photography. 

Do you think you found your calling?

I know my calling is Art. My Grandparents knew before I did and always support me in this life and the next.This is my main inspiration. I recently repainted my Nana's portrait for the City Hall Link Gallery Afrikan Heritage Celebration!

I always set my goal to make the viewer lose time and get lost in my work.

To be captured and unable to walk past without gazing endlessly for at least a moment. With strong thoughts. A story without words that changes with every set of eyes.

What is the most challenging thing about pursuing your own business?

I found it a challenge to find a way for the everyday person to purchase my work. I began showing in galleries as much as possible. Shoutout to Curtis w/ The City Hall Link Gallery.

I found creating an experience with my Art is what I do best. I do this in various ways.

I strongly use intention not expectation. I'll  explain:

Most gifts come true they come bigger than most things fathomable. We don't set expectations = a limited reality. My intention is most important not what my intentions look like! I hope all people do this for themselves. 

Where can we see you(r) work?

My latest display still up is a mural on Joseph Ave & Ave D.  at the 

Lincoln Branch Library 851 Joseph Ave Rochester NY, 14621. This was a city commission with Chloe Smith.

I created an event as well for Visual Artists and Musicians. I often host them at intimate settings and coffee shops to network. I find people network in settings without alcohol fun fact.

How do you think you are perceived?

I'm not sure how I'm perceived. I realize sight is based on what surrounds the viewer not what is seen. The quote in the intro and outro to the movie "Eve's Bayou" (I love this movie, truly my favorite).  Her poem has the same idea and is beautifully written by Kasi Lemmons.

In my own words: Our reflections of others tend to reflect ourselves for multiple reasons.  As above so below, so within so without, so below so above. I focus on how I see me. I find this gives me an untouchable peace.

What question do you wish I had asked?

“What do you love about Art and or why are you an artist?"... I'll say I'm an artist because I love to tell stories that imitate life w/o a script. To connect beyond expression. This make Art its own vibration. Like my work is my baby and grows into its own life in many ways.

This brings me joys. I used to have a hard time selling my work because of my connection until I realized my art isn't just for me, it’s to connect, to share the sensation. Which allows my skills to grow consistently. Seeing my work be sold means I have to create more. 

I love how the art is never the exact same as the artist.

Visual Artists can create a story that only the artist or viewer can see even after it's spoken.  Although it's the same image two people can admire, the same image at the same time and never see or describe the image the same. I find this magical. Only the viewer knows what they see and why.

Imitating life in the best way. With true reflection, words aren't required. 

As Katt Williams said, "The truth doesn't need motivation".

Love,

Taryn

*The following advice is intended for mature audiences The purpose of this newsletter is to inform and entertain. Any similarity to reality is pure coincidence. I do not have any affiliations with the artist and am not collecying any money.

Wanna chat with Mee? click here.

Need daily inspiration to reach your goals, follow us on Instagram!

For a peak at how my mind works, follow on X (also known as twitter).

Listen House.Roc Spotify Playlist curated to make your crush your Goals.

Share this Newsletter with the world if you find it useful!

You are receiving this email because our paths crossed somewhere along the way.

I am Real Estate agent licensed in the State of NY with Keller Williams of Greater Rochester.