Roll'n Deep

Scott Phomvongsa

“Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.”

— Ryunosuke Satoro

Good Morning!

It is 2024: The Era of the Creative-preneur. Those oddballs in high school who always wanted to follow their hearts. I knew that we would find our way to each other somehow…

One of the things that inspires me the most is seeing other artists and entrepreneurs taking their game to the next level. Rochester is full to the brim with creative energy and stimulating individuals doing amazing work.

I have been thinking so seriously about how I could show you behind the curtain of the creative process, give you a veritable insight into ‘How the Other Half Lives.” Not the rich half, the Interesting half, lol.

I have decided to Highlight some of my favorite local Artists, Entrepreneurs and Self-Made Badass MOFO’s I have the incredible pleasure of calling friends.

Together, we make up the Ocean of awesomeness that is Rochester, NY.

Today, we are Roll’n Deep! I met the owner of this brilliant business last year.

We’ve worked together for a few months and I got to find out we both have a passion for delicious food, traveling and we were born only a few days apart. Scott is an incredible successful business owner and his food truck Business is only getting started!

Let’s get Deep! 😄 

Who do you think you are?

I was born and raised in Rochester NY but my family origin is from Southeast Asia - more specifically Laos. I grew up in a multi generational house with lots of family around. I’m Still very close with a lot of my relatives - aunts, uncles, cousins. We have a huge family all across the USA and some in Asia. People would likely describe me as an extrovert but when they really get to know me I’m actually pretty introverted. While at work I have a friendly energetic vibe but when I’m home I really like to have quiet time to fully relax. Work hard, play hard - also work hard, rest hard. If I’m not working I’m lounging (or traveling) 

What’s your favorite title?

I don’t think one title would define me. Im a business owner, family man, confidant. I’d like to be known as someone who gets people together and likes to have fun. Life’s too short to not be able to enjoy it. I’m a very ‘treat yourself” type of person. Why wait? Enjoy it now! 

How did your business find you?

Ive always been interested in food and cooking. When I was younger my dad always told me I should be a chef, it never dawned on me that a career with food would be feasible but once I made that decision there was no turning back.  I’ve worked in the food and beverage industry since  my first job at 15 years old but I was also hustling kids selling candy at school since I was 11 lol. My cousin and his now wife approached me and asked for some advice about opening a bubble tea shop - eventually we became business partners. Fatstraw Bubble Tea opened June 2011 then in July 2016 Roll’n Deep ROC was formed. 

What has been the most challenging thing about having your own business?

Staying focused and believing in yourself. Everyone has that inner saboteur that will tell you what you’re doing is wrong and you can’t do it. Sometimes that negative voice in your head is actually in your friend group, social circle or even family. Trust your intuition and everything will be okay.

What does a day in your life look like?

I always start my day by walking my dog for a few miles and in that time frame I’m checking emails, responding to people, writing my to do lists and getting everything in order. Typically during food truck season I am going around to different stores, doing food prep and getting ready for service. A two hour service is really a 6+ hour work day not including inventory shopping. Some days are light, some days are 16 hours. One week I can be working 20 hours then the next 80 It all depends on the day, but I love it. I can’t stand doing the same thing every day, same schedule, same routine…. and working in an office? No thanks.

What is your biggest regret/ biggest accomplishment?

I try not to have any regrets because those bad times really shape how someone is, how they heal when something bad happens, how they celebrate the good. Everything matters and everything has its place, it’s made you who you are.  With that being said, if I had any regrets it would be not trusting my intuitions and not believing in myself. A big thing I’ve been dealing with in the last few years - people pleasing. I’ve lived a lot of my years for other people, doing what they wanted me to do and what they expected me to do. I was brought up in a strict household and in my teenage years I was very rebellious. 

That brings me to my biggest accomplishment now, being able to have some success in my personal and business life. Showing those people and myself that I had a little hiccup but look at me now. I’ve learned from my mistakes and try to be a good role model to the people around me. 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I hope to keep growing but stay humble. Success is different for everyone, I hope to be expanding my business into other areas and be able to travel the world. Having a “seasonal” job helps me keep a balance. I can work my butt off but also get time off to enjoy my life.

What is your biggest childhood Dream?

It sounds mundane but ever since I was a kid I just wanted to grow up and be happy. I’m doing what I love and enjoy. Feeding people and taking care of people doesn’t feel like work to me. I truly enjoy it, If you come over to my house be ready to be eat and drink like you went to an all you can eat buffet cause it’s going down. Everyone is a child at heart. I think tuning into that and not taking life so seriously helps. Have fun, do what you like and let people be who they are. Just don’t be a downer, karma is real.

In what ways is money a consideration?

Everything revolves around money. I wish I could say that money isn’t that important but I’m not wealthy enough to think that lol. I do think that money changes people and some people are so money hungry they can’t grasp what’s important in life. When I was 18 I was able to travel abroad to Laos. Laos is a very undeveloped country that is changing but it’s relatively unknown to a lot of people. Being there for 4 weeks definitely changed my way of thinking. To work to survive is different than to work to consume material things. Life was simple and people were happy. That inspired me to think differently than what I was accustomed to growing up in Rochester. 

What are your thoughts on wealth building as an artist and entrepreneur?

It’s important to keep growing and to set new goals. You did X in sales last year, let’s try to accomplish Y this year. It keeps you focused and after reaching your goal, it truly is the best feeling. Like yes, I did that. 

If money was no issue, what would you be doing?

I would invest in myself and others that I love and care about. I’ve always wanted to own a huge plot of land and have my cousins and family live on the same property. Maybe having a huge kitchen that connects all of our houses. Food is important to me if you couldn’t tell. That’s my love language! I would also be traveling the world, I love seeing how other people live, the differences in cultures and beliefs.

What does the future hold?

I’m hoping to own some property and dabble in different business avenues. I’m getting married this year and would love to start a family one day. I’ve always wanted to be a dad but as of now I do like to be able to do whatever I want, when I want to. 

How do you think others perceive you?

It’s always easy to judge someone you don’t know. Sometimes people who don’t know me will think I’m serious and not friendly. I have RBF I can’t help it. I think once people get to know me, they will see I’m genuine and truly care about people. I’m an empath and a good listener. 

Who is your Hero and in what ways if that reflected in your work?

I’ve always looked up to people around me. Not one person but everyone I’ve come into contact with. I pick up on little things that people have done or said and try to implement that into my life as well.  My family has always inspired me. Coming to a different country as immigrants and refugees, accomplishing things most people can’t. I took a lot of things for granted when I was younger, I hated school but I admire my aunts and uncles who went to college and got a degree while still learning English. 

Where can we see you(r) work?

You can find me all around Rochester this summer. We’ll be at all the festivals and events around town!

*The following advice is intended for mature audiences The purpose of this newsletter is to inform and entertain. Any similarity to reality is pure coincidence. I do not have any affiliations with the artist and am not collecying any money.

Wanna chat with Mee? click here.

Need daily inspiration to reach your goals, follow us on Instagram!

For a peak at how my mind works, follow on X (also known as twitter).

Listen House.Roc Spotify Playlist curated to make your crush your Goals.

Share this Newsletter with the world if you find it useful!

You are receiving this email because our paths crossed somewhere along the way.

I am Real Estate agent licensed in the State of NY with Keller Williams of Greater Rochester.